Rotisserie Chicken Noodle Soup

 Chicken Soup is for the Soul (or so the books say, actually those books are pretty legit, I’ve read a few).  I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather, extreme temperature changes, too many hours working, not enough sleep etc etc.  The list can go on….but I’ve decided to spend my day off may homemade soup.  Okay I cheated a bit and purchased a Rotisserie Chicken from the store…but it still works!  Also I’ve made chicken soup a few times, from total scratch and store bought chickens, it still comes out amazing, because well I am awesome. Obviously.  Believe me this came out awesome, hopefully I will feel great in the morning!  So here we go!  *Warning this is a time consuming dish, so you should probably plan some home based activities, like cleaning or you know working from home on your day off (I did both :)). *

 Step 1-Gather your ingredients.  Chicken (rotisserie or fresh if you’re bold).  Onions, garlic, salt, pepper, carrots, shallots, oregano, basil, northern white beans, herbs de provance (if you have, otherwise omit), chili flakes (I prefer a little spice, especially when I’m feeling sick), tomato paste, and white wine( I used champagne because that is what I had on hand).

 Step 2- Turn the oven onto 350. Pull the chicken off of the bones and set aside.  Lay the chicken bones on a sheet pan and spread with tomato paste. Place the sheet pan in the oven for 30 minutes or until the bones and tomato paste start to brown.   While the bones are in the oven, start chopping the carrots, onions, garlic, and shallots, any size will due depending on you’re personal preferences.

 Step 3- Heat your soup pot up and add a splash of olive oil.  Add in the onions, shallots and carrots, and let cook a few minutes. Then add in the garlic, salt, pepper, and remaining spices.  Cook down until everything is tender and starting to caramelize. Then deglaze with your white wine, and let the mix come to a simmer.

 Step 4- The chicken bones should be finished at this point, and you will add them to vegetable and wine mix.   Then add your water, and more salt. Bring the entire mix to a boil and reduce to a simmer for about two hours.  I usually reduce my liquid by about half, but you can choose to do less, however I would cut the water with chicken stock to add more flavor.  Pick out the chicken bones, and discard, then add in the pulled chicken from earlier.

 Step 5- Cook some noodles/pasta/rice/quinoa, whatever grain you prefer.  I chose bowtie pasta, it was in the cabinet.  Then set aside, when you are satisfied with the overall flavor of your soup, add some pasta to a soup bowl, add the soup, and eat!  It’s delicious, I promise!

Recipe

1 Rotisserie Chicken

2 small white onions, diced

6 small carrots, diced

10-15 cloves garlic (I may be obsessed with garlic, you can go less if you do not like)

2 tsp oregano, dried

2 tsp basil, dried

1/2 tsp herbs de provance

1/2 tsp chili flakes

1 cup white wine (or champagne)

2 tbsp tomato paste

1/8 cup salt (yes it sounds like a lot, but you are making your own stock)

2 tbsp black pepper

1 cup baby kale, chopped (this can be omitted, I put in because I had some lying around)

1 can northern white beans

1 gallon of water ( I have a large stock pot)

#ChefElizabethDeGori

Twitter @chefelizz

Instagram @ chefelizz

Email @ degori.elizabeth@gmail.com  (should want to ask any questions and not leave in the comments)

Leave a comment